You Never Forget Your First

When looking over all the photos I’ve taken, I have a million and one of my very first ship, the Celebrity Century.

13669_587378047703_5974160_n

Anyone who has ever worked on any ship will tell you there’s something special about that first ship on that first contract. People have asked me time and time again which ship was my favorite and I always pause. I loved each of my ships for different reasons, but the first one always stood separate from the rest. To me it’s like the first dorm I lived in, my first apartment, my first home away from home. It’s in a league of it’s own. The first ship is where you learn the ropes. It’s where you timidly make new friends. It’s where you are ripped out of your shell. You never forget your first ship. 13669_587389285183_2224126_n The Century is a small ship. Very small. She’s the smallest and oldest in the fleet. The equipment was falling apart and I had to learn outdated software on a computer older than me in order to do my job. She has a martini bar with color changing lights, a theatre with a booth reminiscent of what you’d find in a public high school, and a grand staircase like you’d expect on the Titanic. She took me to meet the trolls of Norway. She introduced me to wine and cheese nights. She was my haven after a crazy night in Russia. I loved the Century, and I haven’t laid eyes on her since I signed off (hungover and crying) four years ago.

Now she is starting her final season. That’s right, my first ship is leaving the fleet after 2014. I have very mixed feelings about this. I know the poor old gal is having trouble keeping up with the mega ships of today, but I also think there is a place for smaller, more intimate ships. Perhaps this is just me being sentimental.

I am seriously toying with the idea of trying to catch one last cruise with her.

What would you all do if you were me? Would you attempt to see your ship one more time before it was gone? Or would you let it remain a memory? Feel free to tell me if I’m just being a sentimental drama queen. It happens.

tumblr_m6pzavj1qC1qhvx0uo1_500

12 thoughts on “You Never Forget Your First

Add yours

  1. Aw dang! That’s a tough one. I probably would catch a cruise if I had the finances. Finances dominates my thoughts these days. I want to go to Colombia in April, can I afford it with the wedding/house purchase/pets? Ugh, being a grownup stinks.

      1. I also was so sick on the one and only cruise that I ever went on that there would have to be a million dollars waiting for me on that ship for me to get on. I have not been on a ship since!

      2. Hahahahaha!! My first night back onboard was always the best night’s sleep. Like being rocked to sleep. 🙂

  2. Aww nice words Mackenzie, the Century was my second ship and yes it was the best experience I’ve ever had working on ships with ups and downs met great people which I keep in contact till now,fall in love and got heart broken,did my first dry dock in Italy for a month! 🙂 …my cabin was like a shoe box hehe good for one person thank god ,hehe and yes hearing this you do get sentimental and I’d love to visit her and sail with her for one last time.
    Hugs x
    Christy

  3. Hi,
    My first contract was on Summit (or SLUMmit for those who work or worked there) in 2008. You are right about remembering your first, but going on a ship as a guest is MUCH different than as crew, as you know. It might be nice, but then again, the experience might sour the second time around.The crew on CN will be much different if you go now (as you know) and there too, the experience might be different in a not fun way.

    I think next year I may take a cruise, but the ship will be the one whose itinerary goes to my favorite spots in the Caribbean (St.Maarten, St. Thomas, Barbados, Bonaire, Aruba). Or a Batic cruise, though that’s another $2000 extra at least that I don’t have compared to just cruising in the Caribbean.

    How would you do it? Would you sign on as guest of crew? There is a “non-working” vacation thing where you can stay as a guest for around $10/day plus $7/day to eat in the main dining room but I don’t know if that’s available for people who used to work for Celebrity.

    Many of the people I worked with as Orchestra drummer are on Solstice Class exclusively, or Millennium Class because of their itinerary (South Pacific, Asia, Hawaii). So, in terms of hanging with old friends, I’d leave the CN contract moments as memories and book a cruise with one of the newer ships, make new memories there.
    Best of luck with whatever you decide!

    1. Thanks for the advice. I did take a cruise last year on sLummit as a guest of crew. And you’re right, it is a very different experience. I had a blast, but it wasn’t the same.

      I would to sail as a guest of a crew member. I have a few connections left. 😉

      I don’t think I’m looking for the crew experience re-created. I’m looking for a chance to see the old girl again. A chance to reminisce. It’s like visiting your old college campus. I also wouldn’t go alone, which would make a difference. I’d take one of my old cruising friends with me. She went on the Summit with me for my last cruise as a guest. It makes a difference.

  4. my first contract was Horizon and them I went to Zenith (both longer in the Celebrity fleet). Best ships I’ve worked on. Small and intimate.
    My contract on the Century was my worst contract. (funny how thing are different for different people) Although I cant complain- my partner did fly to meet me at one of the ports and proposed when I was on the Century- so good memories there.
    Each ship is special to each person for different reasons. But the 1st always seem to be one of the best..x

  5. Awe man when I read century my heart skipped a happy beat…. I did two contracts on the old girl….
    In the guest areas it’s all hunky dory but she is really showing her age in other areas, I think she has had a good run….
    I would sooooo defiantly take one last cruise with her…..

  6. My first ship was the Rust Bucket, aka The Pride of Aloha, which is now the Sky. She was a horrible ship that was constently being repainted to hide the rust. The food was some of the worst that I have ever had. There was not a day where I did not wonder if i would waken up to it sinking. I was stalked for 3 months by a creepy 40ish crew member that pretended she was in her twenties.

    And yet, if i heard they were going to finally scrap the Rust Bucket, I would find a way to be on her one more time.

Leave a comment